La Copa América – Redemption came four years later when

Redemption came four years later when they won the tournament in Chile, their first championship in 32 years. That year Argentina hosted the Copa America for the first time in 28 years. Brazil had dominated the tournament for years, winning four of the five games in 1997, 1999, 2004 and 2007, when it was decided that the tournament would no longer be held in the same country every four years. At that point, CONMEBOL decided to return to a host country and a biennial tournament. A tough loss to Honduras in 2001 prevented the tournament from being held for a fifth consecutive year and allowed host country Colombia to win its first championship. In the anniversary edition of the tournament, Chile won, becoming the fourth country to win the championship in a row. While this is impressive, they are still behind Argentina, which has won 14 times, and Uruguay, which has won the tournament the most times, 15. In this post, I’ll give an overview of the tournament and share some highlights from this year as we prepare for the quarterfinals. Speaking of the first matches, 2015 was Chile’s seventh time hosting the tournament. It happened for several years in a row, then there was a two-year break, then a four-year break, then another two-year break, and then it went on every year for several years in a row.